How do I merge my existing Front Row students with Clever-managed ones?

Context

As an existing Front Row teacher whose school enabled Clever integration, you must merge your old students with the new ones downloaded into your roster from your SIS. 

Note that, while technically you're not mandated to perform the merge between your SIS students and the Front Row ones right away, it is strongly recommended you do that as early as you can to avoid confusion while using Front Row.

Step 1. Log in

Go ahead and login at https://classroom.frontrowed.com as usual. You can also log into your teacher account from the Clever dashboard now if you so prefer. Both login methods are supported now that the Clever integration is completed.

Step 2. Start the merge flow

If this is your first login, you will be presented with the student merger screen.

Screenshot_from_2017-05-15_11-06-40.png

This page will be your default home page until the merger is completed. You can always go back to this page by clicking on the Front Row logo in the top left corner of the page, by choosing a class in your roster and selecting the "Merge class with Clever roster" option as seen below, or by going directly to https://classroom.frontrowed.com/#clever-merge .

Screenshot_from_2017-05-15_11-10-58.png

Step 3. Merge one student at a time

Now you can go ahead and choose how to merge each student in your existing sections. Pick an unmerged student and use the dropdown to the right to select what to do with her:

  • Pick a recommended merging target from the "Suggested Matches from Clever" section
  • Do not merge the student - there is no match for this student in the students synced from the SIS
  • Manually pick a student if the suggestion section wasn't able to recommend the correct student to you

Note that this menu gives you as much context as possible on which student you're merging into, e.g. section and grade, in case you have multiple students with the same name.

Screenshot_from_2017-05-15_11-15-32.png

Step 4. Complete merging current section

Once you're done picking a merge option for each student, you can complete the merger by clicking the "Merge students" button.

Screenshot_from_2017-05-15_11-19-17.png

Step 5. Complete merging all sections

Repeat steps 3 and 4 for other sections if you have more than one.

Important: The merged students will need to log in with their SIS-assigned first name, last name and a NEW class code. All three can be found on the Roster page of the Teacher Dashboard.

Screen_Shot_2017-05-15_at_11.21.21

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk